Department of Economics recognizes 50th anniversary

November 02, 2016

On October 28, and 29, the Department of Economics recognized its 50th Anniversary with a conference and speaker series. The presentations featured alumni from the past 40 years. Invited speakers included former faculty members Preston McAfee, Peter Howitt and Tom Courchene.

The weekend culminated with a Gala dinner held in the Great Hall. Professor Jim MacGee held an armchair discussion with Doug Porter (MA ’95), Chief Economist at BMO, and David Andolfatto (PhD ’94), Vice-President at the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis on the economic impact of global events, such as Brexit and the pending US election.

During the weekend, many people instrumental in building the Department of Economics of today were recognized, including founding Chair Grant Reuber, former Chair and Provost Clark Leith, and current Chair Audra Bowlus, as well as David Laidler and Michael Parkin, who received honorary degrees.