Canada Research Chairs

Kaitlynn Mendes, CRC in Inequality and Gender

The Faculty of Social Science presently holds seven Canada Research Chairs. The Canada Research Chairs program was created by the Government of Canada in 2000. It is intended to help Canadian universities in retaining their most distinguished researchers, developing Canadian research expertise, and becoming world-class institutions for research and training.

There are three types of Chairs supported by the program:

  • The Canada Excellence Research Chairs (CERC) Program awards universities up to $10 million over seven years to support world‑renowned researchers and their teams to establish ambitious research programs at Canadian universities.

  • Tier 1 Chairs are for outstanding researchers, who are acknowledged by their peers as world leaders in their fields. These are tenable for seven years and are renewable.
  • Tier 2 Chairs are for exceptional emerging researchers, acknowledged by their peers as having the potential to lead in their field. These are tenable for five years and are renewable once.

Further information about this program can be obtained on the Canada Research Chairs and the Canada Excellence Chairs websites.